Leeds Festival – A Beginners Guide

Unless you’ve got early bird tickets and you’re already there, in which case this is useless, then you’ll be getting ready to go tomorrow! And if this is your first time, I have a couple of important things that you need to remember so you can enjoy yourself as much as possible.

These points will be based on some of the mistakes that I made the first time I went, which just made my experience hell on earth.

  1. Don’t overpack – It is so easy to look through your wardrobes and draws and think oh well I might wear that and I might wear that…then before you know it, the pile for your bag has more clothes than your wardrobe does. Remember you’re only going to be there for four days so it might be better for you to pick out four outfits, one for each day, that you know you’ll love wearing, that you can move around in and most importantly, won’t become unbearable if it starts raining. That means leave out the leather and the thick jeans! Pack a spare t-shirt and a couple of warm jumpers as well because those nights can get chilly, but for the most part, try to keep clothes to a minimum, you’ve still got to get food and drink in!
  2. Don’t have eyes bigger than your belly- when you go shopping for your food and drink, there are two things you should remember. A)whatever you buy, you’re going to have to carry. Try to buy a couple of packs of cereal bars, crisps, biscuits and chocolate, there’ll be hot food vendors, so you’ll just want some things that will get you through the day so you don’t spend all of your money on £5 cheese burgers. B) there will be kettles in the vendors, so cup of soups and pot noodles will be life savers. Light to carry, light on your wallet and easy to make!
    As for alcohol, you won’t drink as much as you think you will…well..I never do. A bottle of wine and a couple of cans of mixers are usually enough, and as mentioned above, whatever you buy, you have to carry and take it from me, it’s exhausting.
  3. Take more than one coat– the first time I went, I took one hoodie… and in true British style, it rained on the first day and my hoodie got ruined. And the entire weekend I had to wear the same soaking hoodie of a day and use it to try and get warm of a night. It was horrendous. If anything, take one for the day time and one for the night time. Sorted!

 

These are just some of the things that I forgot to take into account when I first went to Leeds fest. This might be because I am an idiot..but to stop anybody else suffering these stresses, I thought i would share some wisdom. Enjoy your weekend and stay safe!

Leave a Reply

