How To Deal With Your Job While You Wait For Your Career.

Before I get into this, I am not complaining about my job, I am beyond appreciative of the job that I have and the money that I’m making, but I also know that is isn’t what I want to do for the rest of my life. And sometimes it can be hard to get in the mindset of working in my day job when I start dreaming about working in my perfect job.

My dream is to be an advertising copywriter, helping to come up with creative and amazing content that I can be proud of but while I wait for that job to come along, it is important that I keep money coming in, sending C.Vs out doesn’t pay the bills!

Unfortunately, my job requires me to deal with the public, and if anybody reading this has ever worked in retail, I’m sure you can feel my pain and understand when I say, it’s hard to get out of bed some mornings.

So if you’re the same as me and you’re trying to make ends meet while you wait for your dream job to come around the corner, then here are some things to remember on the grind!

  1. You’re important! Without you, the company or business you work for would lose money, it’s your effort that helps keep them going. You’re more than just a number.
  2. Have something on the side- since my dream is to become a writer, I can’t really say that my job gives me the right experience, so it is important for me to build up my portfolio in my spare time through paid and volunteer freelance work. It can be tiring coming home knowing you’ve got even more work to do, but it’ll be worth it when the experience section on your C.V doubles in size!
  3. You’re still making money- Whether it’s in a job you want to keep forever or not, there’s still money going into your bank every week, or every month so you can’t complain! All of your hard work is worth it when you check your bank statement on payday, and what says well done better than a new pair of shoes, your new favourite film on DVD or even a new vinyl toy for the collection. 😉
  4. Think of the people you’ve met in your job – it’s hard keeping friends as you get older, people get jobs, move around, start having their own families etc. If you didn’t work in the job that you do now, you wouldn’t have met some of the people that you have in your life, giving you people to talk to, people to go out with and somebody to help the day pass quicker. Some of the people I’ve met in work are some of the nicest people I know and I look forward to seeing them everyday, if nothing else, I’m thankful for them!

These are just some of the things that I think of when I’m in my way to work, or while I’m having a bad shift, and I always feel a little better. Some people would kill to have my job or your job, would you give it away?

Keep going, you’ll reach your goal!

Leave a Reply

